Events Calendar

Euractiv organises policy events in Brussels and other European capitals.

Euractiv Events

Europe's future in high performance computing


Europe's future in high performance computing

“High-performance computing is moving towards its next frontier.”
- Andrus Ansip, Vice-President for the Digital Single Market.

In March 2017, seven Member States (France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain) signed the EuroHPC declaration in Rome to support the next generation of computing and data infrastructures. Since then another seven countries have also signed the declaration.

The declaration is part of the European Cloud Initiative, that aims to strengthen Europe's position in data-driven innovation, improve its competitiveness and cohesion, and help create a Digital Single Market in Europe.

Currently only 5% of High Performance Computers are located in the EU and according to Vice-President Ansip, not all EU countries have the capacity to develop such infrastructure on their own.

EURACTIV invites you to this workshop to discuss the way forward in digitising Europe and boosting HPC by addressing questions as:

- What is required to reach full exascale performance by 2023?

- What additional/new policy measures can help boost HPC on a national level?

- How can be ensured that supercomputing reinforces the competitiveness of the EU business as essential element of its digitisation process?

- How can Europe attain world leadership in HPC?

Supported by:


Euractiv Network Office
Boulevard Charlemagne 1, 1041 Brussels

Google Maps >>


Gustav Kalbe, Head of Unit for High Performance Computing and Quantum Technology, DG CNECT, European Commission
Serge Bogaerts, Managing Director, PRACE -Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe
Sergi Girona, Operations Director, Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Ben Bennett, Director of HPC Strategy, Hewlett Packard Enterprise


Catherine Stupp, Reporter, EURACTIV


12:00 – 12:30 Registration
12:30 – 13:00 Introduction and opening comments
13:00 – 14:00 Open debate